October 09, 2016

Team Hardie retain the Dumfries Open

The final of the Dumfries Open was contested by Grant Hardie and Ross Whyte. Team Hardie's route to the final saw them facing Stuart Taylor and Bruce Mouat in the quarter and semi finals respectively. Ross Whyte and his team got past Team Pougher and Team Jamieson to successfully reach the final.

Dumfries Open Winners -
 Team Hardie with Kenny Murray, DIBCA Chairman presenting the prizes
 (Photo: Graham Sloan)

Runner Up - Team Whyte (Photo: Graham Sloan)

The final was a tightly contested game with both teams making great shots on fantastic ice. In the end, Grant had to draw the four foot for a score of 2 and an 8-7 win to retain the title. Team Hardie have now extended their lead at the top of the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour leaderboard. 

Ladies Winners - Team Aitken (Photo: Graham Sloan)

Gina Aitken and Angharad Ward contested the ladies final this afternoon with Team Aitken coming out on top to take the trophy.

Thanks go to Graham Sloan and all at Dumfries Ice Bowl for a great competition. The next competition of the GSCT is the Edinburgh International, 4th-6th November.

To see more photos from Dumfries visit our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/222253851142939/ and Dumfries Curling https://www.facebook.com/DumfriesCurling/

October 08, 2016

Dumfries Open Update

The round robin is complete in Dumfries and the following teams will be competing in the quarter finals on Sunday at 9am.

The quarter finals are:

Jamieson v Ward
Whyte v Coombs
Mouat v Aitken
Hardie v Taylor

Check out the Dumfries Curling Facebook page for more updates and photos from the weekend so far: https://www.facebook.com/DumfriesCurling/?fref=ts 

October 05, 2016

The Dumfries Open

The Goldline Scottish Curling Tour continues this weekend with The Dumfries Open getting underway on Friday at 10am. This year sees a slightly different format with three sections of six teams including mens, ladies and mixed teams in each. The top two teams from each section along with the two best LSD 3rd place teams will qualify for the quarter finals on Sunday morning. 

All teams will be competing to secure valuable points for the overall GSCT leaderboard. Grant Hardie, Bruce Mouat, Stuart Taylor and Andrew Woolston will be hoping to add to their points they won at The Braehead Open. Team Hardie are currently leading the way and will be looking to retain their Dumfries Open title. 

The points breakdown is as follows:

Winner - 15pts
Runner Up - 11pts
3rd/4th - 8pts
Quarter Finalists - 5pts

Along with the points available, the prizes include:  

Winner - £600 (per team)
Runner Up - £350
1/2 Finalists - £250 
1/4 Finalists - £150 

The draw can be found below and results will be available throughout the weekend on the results page of the SCT blog at http://scottishcurlingtour.blogspot.co.uk/p/results.html 

    Sunday 9th October

    1⁄4 Finals @ 9.00am
    Semi Final @ 12.30pm 
    Final @ 3pm 

September 26, 2016

Hardie regains Braehead title!

Grant hardie, Blair Fraser, Dave Reid and Duncan Menzies regained the GSCT Braehead open title, by beating Sophie Jackson, Naomi Brown, Mili Smith and Sophie Sinclair 5-2 in a well fought final.
The ice was a little trickier than it had been all weekend, but both teams put in a great performance and played some exceptional shots, with the Hardie rink managing a well constructed steal in the 7th to all but secure the victory.
The middle road final between Hazel Smith and Coombs went down to the wire, all tied at 7, after 7. The Smith team played a fantastic final end and managed the steal and the victory.
The next tour event is in Dumfries 7-9 Oct and I believe Graham Sloan still has room for a couple more teams, so give him a shout.
See you all in Dumfries!
To see more photos of the Braehead open 2016, go to our facebook page

September 25, 2016

It's Hardie v Jackson in the final!

With the Semis now complete, we have our finalists! Defending Braehead champion Grant Hardie were in a tussle with Team Mouat, in the first semi, with Grant never losing the lead and winning 5-3
In the other high road semi, Sophie Jackson went out to an early lead and never looked in trouble, beating Stuart Taylor 7-4
In the middle road Semis, Coombs beat Gray 8-2 and Tanner beat Smith 8-3.
The low road Final is also complete, with Gillespie beating Havercroft 4-3
So the final between Hardie and Jackson kicks off at 2:30pm. Why not come along and cheers them on?!

September 23, 2016

Group B

Let the games begin!

The first session at Braehead is complete and these are the teams in group A

Braehead kicks off new tour season!

Braehead is set to start the 2016/17 GSCT this weekend, beginning at 6pm on Friday.
Once again Braehead will host an international field, with teams flying in from all over the UK and Europe.
The defending Braehead champion Grant Hardie is back. Grant was runner up in the tour last year and looks keen to start the season with a repeat of last year’s opening victory.  The GSCT overall champion Bruce Mouat is also back, with a re-jigged 5 man team, adding Alistair Schreiber and Derek Sloan to last year’s Bobby Lammie and Gregor Cannon.
Both teams can be seen below, receiving their GSCT prizes last season, surrounded by the Braehead Rockers, who are coached by Alan and Gregor, from team Mouat.

There are plenty of others to watch out for, as there have been a lot of lineup changes to many of this year teams. Certainly Cameron Bryce, Gina Aitken, Sophie Jackson, Anna Kubeskova and Hazel Smith, who is said to be adding (amongst others) an Olympian to her team. There will also be some extremely experienced senior talent, like Ken Horton, and Graeme Adam. I’m sure we shall have a few surprises, especially from some of the newly re-jigged teams and of course the up and coming youngsters.

Results for Braehead can be found throughout the weekend in the results page of the GSCT blog http://scottishcurlingtour.blogspot.co.uk/p/results.html Good luck to all those taking part!

September 12, 2016

Goldline Oval Pro

Goldline's new pad fully complies with the new WCF regulations. Does yours?

Available through British Curling Supplies, Corston Sinclair and Murrayfield Curling.

Oval Pro Curling Pad

  • Universal oval design fits all traditional oval curling brush heads.
  • Certified to meet WCF specification and approved for use in WCF Championships and Events.
  • Imprinted with WCF Approval Code.